Bahrain’s elections: What is at stake?

October 29, 2010

How many constituencies are up for grabs?

Nine: Three in the Central Governorate, four in Muharraq Governorate, one in the Northern Governorate and one in the Southern Governorate.

Who is running in the second round?

Nine candidates from three political societies: Al Asala, the Islamic Menbar and the National Democratic Action Society “Waad”.

Nine independent candidates

Muharraq Governorate

Constituency 2 – Ebrahim Bu Sandal (Al Asalah – Incumbent) and Abdul Hamid Al Mir (Independent)

Constituency 3 – Ali Ahmad Abdullah (Islamic Menbar – Incumbent) and Ebrahim Shareef (Waad)

Constituency 4 – Abdul Basit Al Sha’air (Islamic Menbar) and Mahmoud Al Mahmoud (Independent). The winner replaces Eisa Ahmad Abul Fateh (Al Asalah)

Constituency 8 – Ganim Al Buaineen (Al Asalah – Incumbent) and Abdul Nasser Abdullah (Independent)

Northern Governorate

Constituency 6 – Jamal Dawood (Independent) and Mohammad Al Amadi (Islamic Menbar). The winner replaces Mohammad Khaled Ebrahim (Islamic Menbar)

Central Governorate

Constituency 3 – Ebrahim Al Hadi (Islamic Menbar – Incumbent) and Adnan Al Maliki (Independent)

Constituency 4 – Muneera Fakhroo (Waad) and Eisa Al Qadhi (Independent). The winner replaces Salah Ali (Islamic Menbar)

Constituency 8 – Abdul Lateef Al Shaikh (Islamic Menbar- incumbent) and Ali Al Zayid (Independent)

Southern Governorate

Constituency 3 – Second round to be held between Sharikh Al Dossary (Independent) and Ahmad Al Mulla (Independent). The winner replaces Sami Al Buhairi (Asalah)

Which society has the highest number of candidates?

–      Al Asala:                                    2

–      The Islamic Menbar:                  5

–      Waad:                                        2

How did the societies fare in the first round?

–      Al Wefaq won 18 constituencies.

–      Al Asala won two constituencies.

–      The Islamic Menbar did not win any seat.

–      Waad did not win any seat.

How many women won?

–      Eight women ran in the parliamentary elections, but none carried her constituency.

–      Muneera Fakhroo, running on a Waad ticket has a second chance on Saturday in the run-off.

–      Three women ran in the municipal elections, and two have a second chance in the second round.

Who was elected in the first round?

Capital Governorate

Constituency 1 – Adel Al Assoomi (Independent) Re-elected

Constituency 2 – Khalil Al Marzouq (Al Wefaq) Re-elected

Constituency 3 – Hadi Al Mousawi (Al Wefaq) replaces Jassim Al Momin (Al Wefaq)

Constituency 4 – Abdul Jalil Khalil (Al Wefaq) Re-elected

Constituency 5 – Mohammad Mizal (Al Wefaq) Re-elected

Constituency 6 – Abdul Rahman Bu Mjaid (Independent) Re-elected

Constituency 7 – Abdul Majid Al Seba’ (Al Wefaq) replaces Abdul Aziz Hassan Abul (Independent)

Constituency 8 – Jameel Kadhim (Al Wefaq) Re-elected

Muharraq Governorate

Constituency 1 – Adel Al Mouawda (Al Asalah) Re-elected

Constituency 5 – Esa Al Kooheji (Independent) replaces Sami Qambar (Islamic Menbar)

Constituency 6 – Ali Al Ashiri (Al Wefaq) replaces Hamza Ali Kadhim (Al Wefaq)

Constituency 7 – Othman Sharif (Independent) replaces Nasser Al Fadhalah (Islamic Menbar)

Northern Governorate

Constituency 1 – Matar Matar (Al Wefaq) replaces Ali Salman (Al Wefaq)

Constituency 2 – Ali Al Aswad (Al Wefaq) replaces Makki Hilal (Al Wefaq)

Constituency 3 – Abdul Hussain Al Matghawi (Al Wefaq) Re-elected

Constituency 4 – Hassan Al Dossary (Independent) Re-elected

Constituency 5 – Mohammad Majid (Al Wefaq) replaces Mohammed Jameel Al Jamri (Al Wefaq)

Constituency 7 – Jasim Hussain (Al Wefaq) Re-elected

Constituency 8 – Jawad Fairouz (Al Wefaq) Re-elected

Constituency 9 – Hassan Ali Sultan (Al Wefaq) Re-elected

Central Governorate

Constituency 1 – Salman Abdullah (Al Wefaq) replaces Jalal Fairouz (Al Wefaq)

Constituency 2 – Abdullah Al A’ali (Al Wefaq) Re-elected

Constituency 5 – Abd Ali Mohammed Hassan (Al Wefaq) Re-elected

Constituency 6 – Hassan Eisa (Al Wefaq) replaces Haidar Hassan (Al Wefaq)

Constituency 7 – Abdul Haleem Murad (Al Asalah) Re-elected

Constituency 9 – Khalifa Dhahrani (Independent) Re-elected

Southern Governorate

Constituency 1 – Jasim Al Saeedi (Independent) Re-elected

Constituency 2 – Abdullah Bin Huwail (Independent) replaces Hamad Al Muhanadi (Asalah)

Constituency 4 – Abdullah Al Dossary (Independent) Re-elected

Constituency 5 – Khamis Al Rumaihi (Independent) Re-elected

Constituency 6 – Lateefa Al Gaood (Independent) Re-elected



About the author

Born August 3, 1960 in Monastir, Tunisia
Media career:
  • ABC News (Tunisia)
  • Bahrain Tribune
  • Gulf News
  • Bahrain Television News
Teaching career:
  • Monastir (Tunisia)
  • University of Bahrain
  • MA  Mass Communications, University of Leicester
  • BA  in English & US literature and studies, University of Tunis

Random Image

17 visitors online now
0 guests, 17 bots, 0 members
Max visitors today: 28 at 09:55 am UTC
This month: 28 at 10-05-2017 01:44 am UTC
This year: 48 at 05-21-2017 10:47 am UTC
All time: 137 at 07-08-2013 12:50 pm UTC
Better Tag Cloud