US ambassador Joseph Ereli leaves Bahrain

January 12, 2011

King Hamad bestows Bahrain's top medal upon Ereli - BNA

Joseph Adam Ereli, the US ambassador in Manama, is leaving Bahrain this week to take up a new position in Washington.

A towering figure in the diplomatic circles in Bahrain, Ereli took up his post as the 15th US ambassador in Manama in July 2007. Before entering the Foreign Service in 1989, he worked as a journalist and human rights activist in Paris. Prior to his appointment to Bahrain, Ereli was Senior Advisor to the Undersecretary for Public Diplomacy for Overseas Communications, based in London.

On Monday, King Hamad Bin Eisa Al Khalifa heaped praise on Ereli and bestowed on him the Bahrain Medal of the First Order in recognition of his outstanding efforts in promoting bilateral relations, Bahrain News Agency (BNA) reported.

Former President George Bush became, during Ereli’s tenure, the first sitting US president to visit Bahrain.

The US has had diplomats posted in Bahrain since 1971 after the country gained its independence. The diplomatic mission was established on September 21, five weeks after the independence.

John N. Gatch, Jr, was named as Chargé d’Affaires ad interim in 1971 and served for one year. He was followed by William A. Stoltzfus, Jr.  who was Ambassador to Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, and United Arab Emirates, working out of Kuwait.

In 1974, the US named Joseph W. Twinam as its first ambassador in residence in Manama.

List of US ambassadors to Bahrain

  • John N. Gatch, Jr. (1971–1972) – Chargé d’Affaires ad interim.
  • William A. Stoltzfus, Jr. (1972–1974) – Ambassador to Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, and United Arab Emirates, working out of Kuwait.
  • Joseph W. Twinam (1974–1976) – First ambassador in residence in Manama.
  • Wat T. Cluverius, 4th (1976–1978)
  • Robert H. Pelletreau, Jr. (1979–1980)
  • Peter A. Sutherland (1980–1983)
  • Donald C. Leidel (1983–1986)
  • Sam H. Zakhem (1986–1989)
  • Charles Warren Hostler (1989–1993)
  • David S. Robins (1993–1994) – Chargé d’Affaires ad interim.
  • David M. Ransom (1994–1997)
  • Johnny Young (1997–2001)
  • Ronald E. Neumann (2001–2004)
  • William T. Monroe (2004–2007)
  • J. Adam Ereli (2007–2011)


About the author

Born August 3, 1960 in Monastir, Tunisia
Media career:
  • ABC News (Tunisia)
  • Bahrain Tribune
  • Gulf News
  • Bahrain Television News
Teaching career:
  • Monastir (Tunisia)
  • University of Bahrain
  • MA  Mass Communications, University of Leicester
  • BA  in English & US literature and studies, University of Tunis

Random Image

13 visitors online now
3 guests, 10 bots, 0 members
Max visitors today: 13 at 02:10 am UTC
This month: 45 at 08-06-2017 06:47 am UTC
This year: 48 at 05-21-2017 10:47 am UTC
All time: 137 at 07-08-2013 12:50 pm UTC
Better Tag Cloud