Kuwait to have 28th government since independence in 1961

April 7, 2011

Kuwait’s new government, to be formed by Prime Minister Shaikh Nasser Al Mohammad Al Sabah, will be the 28th since its declaration of independence on June 19, 1961, and the seventh during the era of the Emir Shaikh Sabah Al Ahmad Al Sabah.

The country’s first government was formed on January 17, 1962, during the reign of the late Emir Shaikh Abdullah Al Salem Al Sabah, and included 14 ministers. It served for almost a year, Kuwait News Agency (KUNA) reported.

Between January 28, 1963, and November 17, 1965, three governments were formed, all chaired by the late Emir, Shaikh Sabah Al Salem Al Sabah. The first one had 15 ministers, the second 14, and the third 13, KUNA said.

Following the death of Shaikh Abdullah Al Salem Al Sabah, the 11th ruler of the country, and Shaikh Sabah Al Salem Al Sabah’s accession to power, five governments were formed between December 4, 1965 and January 22, 1987, chaired by the late Emir Shaikh Jaber Al Ahmad Al Sabah. The first one had 13 ministers, the second and third, 14, the fourth 15, and the fifth 18.

The 10th cabinet was formed after Shaikh Jaber Al Ahmad Al Sabah became the Emir of Kuwait. During his reign, 11 governments were formed and chaired by Shaikh Saad Al Abdullah Al Sabah, between February 16, 1978, and July 6, 2003.

The 10th government had 19 ministers while the 11th and 12th had 15 executives. The 13th was made up of 21 ministers, one less than the 14th.

The 15th government, formed after the liberation of Kuwait from the Iraqi invasion, and tasked with re-construction, had 15 ministers. The 16th cabinet, formed on October 17, 1992, was made up of 15 executives and the 17th of 14. The 18th, the 19th and the 20th had 15 ministers each.

In the period between July 13, 2003, and January 2006, the Emir chaired a 15-member cabinet.

Following the demise of Shaikh Jaber Al Ahmad Al Sabah and the accession to power of Emir Shaikh Sabah Al Ahmad Al Sabah on January 29, 2006, Shaikh Nasser Al Mohammed Al Sabah headed six governments between February 9, 2006 and March 31, 2011. His governments had 15 members.

The seventh, formed on February 2, 1971, was the smallest with only 11 members, but after three ministers were named eight months later, the number went up to 14.

The biggest government in Kuwait’s history was the 14th, formed on June 20, 1990, which had 22 ministers.

Shaikh Nasser is Kuwait’s fifth prime minister.




About the author

Born August 3, 1960 in Monastir, Tunisia
Media career:
  • ABC News (Tunisia)
  • Bahrain Tribune
  • Gulf News
  • Bahrain Television News
Teaching career:
  • Monastir (Tunisia)
  • University of Bahrain
  • MA  Mass Communications, University of Leicester
  • BA  in English & US literature and studies, University of Tunis

Random Image

13 visitors online now
2 guests, 11 bots, 0 members
Max visitors today: 26 at 08:28 am UTC
This month: 45 at 08-06-2017 06:47 am UTC
This year: 48 at 05-21-2017 10:47 am UTC
All time: 137 at 07-08-2013 12:50 pm UTC
Better Tag Cloud