Obama names Tueller as ambassador to Kuwait; post in Bahrain remains vacant

May 6, 2011

Tueller, a career diplomat and a former Deputy Chief of Mission in Kuwait, currently serves as Deputy Chief of Mission in Cairo.

He will replace Deborah Jones, the only woman US ambassador to serve in Kuwait, and will be the 17th US diplomat to head a mission to Kuwait since the Gulf country gained its independence in 1961.  Deborah arrived in Kuwait City on April 19, 2008.

The US, however, has still to name a successor to Joseph Adam Ereli, the former US ambassador in Manama, who left Bahrain on January 12 to take up a new position in Washington.

The US has had diplomats posted in Bahrain since 1971 after the country gained its independence. The diplomatic mission was established on September 21, five weeks after Bahrain’s independence.

Tueller joined the US Foreign Service in 1985 and overseas assignments have included Political Minister Counselor in Baghdad, Political Counselor in Riyadh, Chief of the US Office in Aden, Deputy Chief of Mission in Doha, Political Officer in London and Political Officer and Consular Officer in Amman.

Washington assignments have included Deputy Director in the Office of Northern Gulf Affairs and Egypt Desk Officer.

Tueller holds a BA from Brigham Young University and an MPP from Harvard University John F. Kennedy School of Government.

Side bar: List of US ambassadors to Kuwait since 1961

Dayton S. Mak (1961–1962) – Chargé d’Affaires

Parker T. Hart (1962–1963) – First ambassador

Howard Rex Cottam (1963–1969)

John Patrick Walsh (1969–1971)

William A. Stoltzfus Jr. (1972–1976)

Frank E. Maestrone (1976–1979)

François M. Dickman (1979–1983)

Philip J. Griffin (1983–1984) – Chargé d’Affaires

Anthony Cecil Eden Quainton (1984–1987)

W. Nathaniel Howell (1987–1991) – left occupied Kuwait in December before the start of the Gulf War

Edward William Gnehm, Jr. (1991–1994) – reopened the embassy following the liberation of Kuwait, February 1991

Ryan Clark Crocker (1994–1997)

James A. Larocco (1997–2001)

Richard Jones (2001–2004)

Richard LeBaron (2004–2007)

Deborah K. Jones (2008-2011)




About the author

Born August 3, 1960 in Monastir, Tunisia
Media career:
  • ABC News (Tunisia)
  • Bahrain Tribune
  • Gulf News
  • Bahrain Television News
Teaching career:
  • Monastir (Tunisia)
  • University of Bahrain
  • MA  Mass Communications, University of Leicester
  • BA  in English & US literature and studies, University of Tunis

Random Image

14 visitors online now
0 guests, 14 bots, 0 members
Max visitors today: 16 at 12:01 am UTC
This month: 45 at 08-06-2017 06:47 am UTC
This year: 48 at 05-21-2017 10:47 am UTC
All time: 137 at 07-08-2013 12:50 pm UTC
Better Tag Cloud